ⓘ Blog | Environmental awards - environment and society ..


Environmental award

An environmental award is usually awarded for activities that lead to the protection of the environment. The awards may be open to the global community or only within a particular country or field of work.


Ansel Adams Award (The Wilderness Society)

The Ansel Adams Award is an annual award given by The Wilderness Society of the United States. Named by American photographer and environmentalist Ansel Adams, the award is given to a current or former federal official who has been a fervent advocate of conservation.


Ansel Adams Award for Conservation Photography

The Ansel Adams Award for Conservation Photography, named in honor of American photographer Ansel Adams, is a photography award administered by the Sierra Club. The award "honor photographers who have used their talents in conservation efforts."



Ashden is a London-based charity that works in the field of sustainable energy and regional development. Its actions include the annual Ashden Awards, advocacy and research in the field of sustainable energy, and mentoring and practical support for award winners.


Blue Planet Prize

The Blue Planet Prize recognises outstanding efforts in scientific research or applications of science that contribute to solving global environmental problems. The prize was created by the Asahi Glass Foundation in 1992, the year of the Rio Earth Summit, and since then the foundation has awarded the prize to two winners every year. In 2012, twenty of the Blue Planet Prize winners collaborated on a joint paper that was launched at the UN Environment Programmes Governing Council meeting in Nairobi on 20 February.


The British Environment and Media Awards

The British Environment and Media Awards, or BEMAs, were created by Media Natura, and are awarded by the World Wide Fund for Nature. The awards are open to any professional article, programme, website or campaign, written, produced or undertaken in the UK. Past hosts have included Angus Deayton, and Michael Fish In 2007, the year the awards became carbon neutral, winners included: The BBC News at Ten for its coverage of climate change The Financial Timess Fiona Harvey for exposing corruption in the carbon offset market The student organisation People & Planet for its university environmental performance table, the Green League The Guardian Newspaper Some of the awards sponsors, which include the RSPB, have attracted some condemnation, such as Surfers Against Sewage protest at the 2007 awards where they handed Northumbrian Water a gold toilet-brush for "showing a disregard to the health of the marine environment". Northumbrian Water however insist they are "the leading environmental company in the North East", having "invested some £2 billion on environmental and service improvements since 1990".

Users also searched: